Some thoughts on being a boss

The title was purposely chosen as a sort of eye-catcher. Because seriously – nobody likes a bossy-boss. Am I right?  Often I ask myself: “what do you do to make sure you’re helping the team as a leader, and not just bossing them around?”  My answer has always been – I think of the things that I would like to have from my Leader. I ask myself what is helpful, what feels right, what feels wrong, and what would help move obstacles out of the way of my team to help us run smoother. And then I do those things. Folks: it’s not magic. Always try to be the best you can be, but also help the individuals in your team be their best as well.  And… with that in mind, I also believe that we never stop learning.  

So here are a few little things I  pulled together from some of the trainings and Keynotes I have given… 

 


 

So you are the Boss – OK, fine.

But…

  • Do you know everything?
  • Can you do everything?
  • Are you really better than everyone on your team?

You will be a really good boss when you have come to realize that:

  • Not everything in life is a democracy, BUT…
  • You MUST use the judgement of your team

.


.

And seriously, folks:  DON‘T be a Micro-Manager.

Instead, help your people row the boat – clear obstacles out of their way and give them what they need. DO NOT do it for them, and don’t believe they will only get it right if you tell them what to do at every junction.

 


.

Be a great boss by recognizing and accepting that everyone has a different picture of how to reach goals. Then it is your job to get the best of all those different ideas on to one track that leads to the best possible result.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-01-19 um 15.41.15.png

Repeat after me:

“I will become a great Boss when I am capable of…”

  • recognizing the qualities/strengths of others,
  • Learning to appreciate those qualities and strengths, and
  • knowing how to bring them together to reach a common goal.

 


.

Just remember these very important rules,
and you will be just fine…

  1. People will do what they want to do. Your job is to make sure that what they want is in line with what needs to be done.
  2. Never believe you are better than anyone in your team. 
  3. No-one ever did anything enthusiastically because they were told „I said so“.
  4. It is never about what YOU want, listen to your team!
  5. Always be good to people – as a default.  

 


..

 

And finally, even rock stars need to practice their guitar skills. Don’t make the mistake of believing you’ve got it all figured out. 

fullsizerender-14

  • Engage in an active dialogue with others, share and learn from each other
  • Regularly check your approach
  • Consciously use the theory you have learned
  • Expand possibilities and spread good practices through exchange with others
  • Learn, Do, Share, Repeat

.


 

bildschirmfoto-2017-01-18-um-11-01-27

Leave a Reply

